RAHTID 3 (CD review)

  1. Intro
  2. Maverick – Always To Jah
  3. Warrior King – Call On Jah Name
  4. Sizzla feat. Luciano, Jah Mason & Turbulence – Street Chant
  5. Kali Blaxx – Highway
  6. Capleton – No Love
  7. Interlude
  8. Vybz Kartel feat. Tina Nunezz – Bubble
  9. Macka Diamond – Wine (Soca Mix)
  10. Lady Saw – Anuh Anything
  11. Opal – It Clean Like House
  12. Fantan Mojah – Just The Feeling
  13. One Third – A New Day
  14. Perfect – Reggae Super Star
  15. Kandi Man feat. Dean Fraser – Murder Sound Boy
  16. Nico D – Nothing Na Change
  17. Garrison feat. Melloquence – Try My Best
  18. Konshens – Watch Me Fada


Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Following up “Rahtid 1 & 2” (released in 2010 and 2011 respectively), Young Veterans producers Sekou Davis and Sheldon Pennicott have unleashed the third installment in their semi-mix cd series. The compilation features full length dancehall, reggae and soca tracks from topnotch artists as well as lesser known talents. Both Davis and Pennicott have been producing from their Kingston based recording studio since 2006 and have worked on several projects of which the November 2010 released “Jah Protect” riddim was their most successful project so far. More recently they released the “Climaxx” riddim, which of course is also represented here. 

After the “Intro”, the listener is treated to an appealing mix of artists and styles. Things get started with Maverick’s haunting “Always To Jah”, before Warrior King’s solid “Call On Jah Name” across a decent ‘one-drop’ riddim takes over the proceedings. The collaboration tune “Street Chant”, delivered by Sizzla, Luciano, Jah Mason & Turbulence, is underpinned by a hectic riddim, but you’re definitely gonna appreciate this piece when it has grown on you. “Highway” by Kali Blaxx is a real nice ‘feel good’ tune, which is followed by Capleton’s hard-hitting dancehall tune “No Love”, delivered in the artist’s well known fiery style. The “Interlude” rounds off the first part of this compilation, which so far has been worth hearing. 

Also the remaining tracks of this “Rahtid 3” set bring nuff listening pleasure. First there’s “Bubble”, Vybz Kartel & Tina Nunezz’s raw dancehall piece across the “Climaxx” riddim, and then it’s time for female artists Macka Diamond, Lady Saw and Opal to showcase their vocal skills with in particular Macka Diamond’s “Wine” making you move your dancing feet. The lovers piece “Just The Feeling” by Fantan Mojah makes a decent impression, and the same goes for “A New Day” by the relatively unknown One Third. Perfect’s “Reggae Superstar” is a nice tune on a grooving riddim, but it’s Kandi Man & Dean Fraser’s Soundbwoy tune “Murder Sound Boy” that impresses more. “Nothing Nah Change” sees Norway’s best known reggae artist Nice D delivering a solid reality tune. Then “Try My Best” by Garrison feat. Melloquence and Konshens’ wonderful “Watch Me Fada” closes off this set in fine style. 

“Rahtid 3” — subtitled “The Ultimate Reggae Dancehall Experience” — is an entertaining collection of tunes, worth checking out!



original posting

You might be interested in …